Feels like the weekend…

18 Jun

Tonight my bride put together a fabulous meal as we celebrated with two new InterVarsity staff workers on our back deck. Jon, who we have known deeply as one of our first freshmen, is leaving us and training in the fall at the University of Richmond. We are terribly excited for the impact he’ll have on the students there as well as the fact that he’s being trained by a rockstar staff, one I am thrilled to have working with our first student from ODU to come on staff. 

The second guest at our table we met tonight for the very first time. Kristen will be training with us at ODU and comes to us highly recommended from the fabulous College of Charleston and the world renowned Webers. She is a native of Norfolk and so is already in town working on her fundraising for the summer. We heard many good stories as we got to know her and both Dawn and myself are very excited to have her with us for next year.

And to me it feels like the weekend. Could be the fact that we stayed up late having great conversation with friends, could simply be the wine. But it’s fun and I was awake enough to try my hand at blogging again. Welcome back to me!

2 Responses to “Feels like the weekend…”

  1. Steve June 19, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    Shane, it is good to see you back. I am excited for your upcoming year, and for Kristen and her impact on students. Keep it up!

  2. jondouthit June 19, 2008 at 4:46 pm #

    Sounded like you were announcing a heavyweight matchup…. “And in the blue corner….”

    I had an awesome time last night! I hope to see some more blog updates. I am linking to you… Don’t let me down… 😉

Leave a Reply

