Great Weekend Part 2

1 Jul

While away this past weekend I took a few quiet moments to tear through an excellent book. Reconciliation Blues has been sitting on my shelf for quite some time now, even though one of my heroes recommended it highly over a year ago. Like him, I tore through it, which was a good thing because the weather was gorgeous and I wanted to be outside most of the time. It was a little strange too, going from having great fun with family and friends to hiding out for a half hour or so reading through this book. I have read a good handful of books on the topic of racial reconciliation during my time with InterVarsity and I hazard to say that this one might be the very best…

Edward Gilbreath give a remarkable picture of this issue of reconciliation from the perspective of a black man who is very much a part of the white evangelical culture. He is an excellent writer and has served as editor of both Christianity Today and Today’s Christian; like I said, good experience within evangelicalism. I love his ability to be honest and gentle at the same time and I was extremely impressed with his ability to write this entire book about a topic he has much more experience with than I without every sounding like he was talking down to me. A very worthy read, one that I won’t spoil by detailing too much here. Definitely pushing my buttons even after I have finished with it and I am very thankful I finally picked it up.

In addition to all of this, Gilbreath started Chapter 10 with quote that resonated deep within my heart.

In addition to teaching me how to tie my shoelaces and make my bed, my

parents also impressed upon me the importance of thinking for myself.

Along with all the great gifts I have received from my parents, this one often stands out as one that I deeply treasure. I connected with much of the way the author thought I believe because we have this in common about our parents. While I often get lost in being rather arrogant and a bit self-absorbed, this early teaching about wrestling through things in a deeply personal way has greatly affected who I am becoming as an adult. And I’m very grateful because it is with this gift that I am able to grapple with hard issues of racial reconciliation and the truly troubling problem of poverty with hopes of understanding these real challenges in a way that could make a difference. 

P.S. – I am rather good at tying my shoes and still dislike making the bed. 

Leave a Reply

