Great Weekend Part 3

2 Jul

Saturday morning, with friends and family around, Dawn and I celebrated our fifth wedding anniversary. Being with people we care about made it even better. We celebrated for the first time three months ago on our trip to Italy, again this past weekend, and plan to a final time next month on a weekend away together after things quiet down some. 

Marriage is by far the most difficult undertaking I’ve ever experienced. Living full-time with someone you love is amazing in its ability to reveal your own selfishness. I am shocked almost every day at how quickly I can forget about my love for Dawn by putting my own desires first. Thankfully she continues to forgive. 

Marriage is also so much more incredible than I ever imagined. I thought I knew what I was getting into and yet am more surprised every time I turn around. This idea of two becoming one blows me away. It’s hard to describe how much life has changed between Dawn and me since June 28, 2003 and I’m so grateful for each moment. I smile when I think about the many many anniversaries to come.

To my bride, with all of my heart, thank you. 

2 Responses to “Great Weekend Part 3”

  1. Pauline Hawley July 2, 2008 at 9:26 pm #

    Hi Shane,

    I am so glad you are back to blogging. As I told you the night I saw you, I missed it and I checked often to see if you had started again. I was surprised when you started up again last week after so long. I hope you will keep it up. I may not comment often, but you can rest assured I will be reading each one. I enjoy them and like keeping up with what you and Dawn are doing.

  2. Shane July 2, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    Thanks for the encouragement. I can’t promise to keep it up but for now it’s pretty fun which makes it easy. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

