When Crickets Cry

26 Nov

One of the greatest joys in my life is reading. And one of the rare aspects of that love is finding a random book or a new author that I simply adore. In the past month I have found not one but two new authors. I’ll get to the first one in a later post but yesterday I finished When Crickets Cry by Charles Martin and highly recommend it. Rarely does such a simple novel pack such a picture of life as it was meant to be lived. 

Reese, an older gentleman who has a sweet house on a lake, randomly meets a young girl selling lemonade. Turns out this girl, Annie, has a serious heart condition. Reese lost his wife to a similar condition and his life has made no sense since then. Quickly a bond forms between the two of them that will put you on the verge of tears multiple times throughout the book. 

I loved the story but was really challenged by the way that the main characters lived their lives. Very focused. Hard working. Anxious to serve those around them. One neat aspect later in the story comes from understanding who Reese used to be before he lost his wife. As the story moves on, deep questions are asked of him and he has to find out how much of himself he wants to share. 

Deep questions challenge me a great deal. I generally ask questions similar to what do I want to do while on this earth. This has helped me find activities that I love which is awesome. But as I read this book I’m curious how life would look differently if instead of asking what I want to do, I asked what I was made to do. I wonder if that is a piece of the motivating factor in this book, one that makes the characters come alive. And then I wonder what this world would look like if we all began asking that question. And then answering it.

Leave a Reply

