The Chosen

5 Dec

The first great book and new author I found this fall came through reading The Chosen by Chaim Potok. Like many great finds, this book was mentioned in another book I was reading and can be found at almost any used book store near you. Apparently many people had to read it in school, I unfortunately was not exposed to it until last month. 

Potok tells the tale of two Jewish boys, both sons of rabbis, growing up in nearby neighborhoods. As the story so often goes, one rabbi father wants his son to be a rabbi; his son wants to be a psychologist. The other rabbi father wants his son to be a mathematician; his son wants to be a rabbi. After a rather significant accident, they become fast friends. 

So many great things about this book. A great story. Great advice for young boys. A neat understanding of Jewish culture or at least one picture of it. The neatest piece for me was the image brought of by the rabbi fathers having two very different ideas about how to raise their boys. 

I know this must sound like a pretty random book but I will have to say it’s probably my favorite read of 2008. I’ve already found a few more by this author and placed them on my bookcase. Highly recommended.

3 Responses to “The Chosen”

  1. Pauline Hawley December 7, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    Hi Shane,

  2. Pauline Hawley December 7, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    Hi Shane,

    Am glad you are blogging again. I missed it during the time you were on hiatus from blogging. I enjoyed the critique of these books and will try to get them from the library. We have a new library right up the street here. In fact, it’s in the place where your mother used to work as a nurse when the doctors’ offices were there, many years ago when you were a little boy. Those were the days when I used to babysit you. Hope all is going well with you and Dawn and that you are enjoying the Christmas season. Keep blogging, and as I told you, I always read them faithfully even though some times I do not respond

  3. Shane December 17, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    Glad to have one faithful reader! Please let me know what you think of the books if you get a chance to read them. I have many memories of that building when it was a doctor’s office! Christmas is a great time, especially to catch up on my reading. Thanks for your great card, by far the cutest we’ve received so far. Merry Christmas to you.

Leave a Reply

