Reconciling All Things

17 Dec

Honestly, I am getting a little weary of authors who have about 150 pages of content writing books that are 250 pages long. Tiring. Thank goodness that is not the case with Reconciling All Things. 150 pages is all the commitment it takes.

Due of my connection with InterVarsity over the past eight years, I have received some pretty awesome guidance and teaching about issues of racial division in this world. One of the authors of this book is also the co-author of one of the classical texts on racial reconciliation, More Than Equals, also very highly recommended. 

But “reconciliation” in the Christian sub-culture has a few meanings. Those of us who run in InterVarsity circles probably think first about racial reconciliation. The reality is that God’s entire story is one of reconciliation. We run away from him over and over again and he gently calls us back. Thank goodness. 

I have enjoyed many books I have read in the genre of racial reconciliation. I have even loved a few of them. But I have never read one that so deeply expressed both connotations of the word “reconciliation” in such a beautiful way. They must go together, this call back to a loving God alongside the call to love those around us whom we often keep at a distance. And as a self-professed book geek, I have yet to see it done better. I love this book and hereby anoint it my one must read of 2008. You can read it in 2009 since you are quickly running out of time. 

To Emmanuel Katongole & Chris Rice, thank you for inviting me into the deeper story yet again.

4 Responses to “Reconciling All Things”

  1. Andrew G. December 18, 2008 at 12:39 am #

    can i borrow this book, among the other 20 i saw on your book shelf? 🙂

  2. Shane December 18, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    Yes, you can borrow whatever you are willing to read!

  3. Jon D December 21, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    Don’t you love our job? I got this one in the mail the other day and it look amazing. Part of me is surprised you read it already. Part of me is surprised it took you this long… 😉

    I’m looking forward to reading it!

  4. Shane December 21, 2008 at 7:37 pm #

    I actually ordered and read it a few weeks ago, just took me a while to get it up on the blog. You had better get to reading!

Leave a Reply

