On tap

12 Jan

Yesterday I made it to the library and was able to pick up a handful of books I had requested that had finally come in:

The Mystery of Capital by Hernando de Soto
Found this one in the Urbana bookstore and am always interested in new reads pertaining to economics.

What The Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell
After learning I am a maven early on and then loving Outliers, I will read anything he writes.

Death By Meeting by Patrick Lencioni
I am leading a three day team meeting in two weeks and thought reading this beforehand might be a blessing to my staff.

Let the good times roll!

**********************

On an unrelated note, I’d like to mention how much I am enjoying the Fuji Apple Salad at Panera. Yes, you can get it without chicken and yes, they still charge you the same price.

4 Responses to “On tap”

  1. Jon January 13, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Thanks for thinking of us. Though, Joe will be on tap at the meeting, which should instantly make it many times better than it could have been. 🙂

    And that’s dumb that they won’t discount your salad. You talk to someone higher up than the grunt at the register? I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s honestly just laziness – whether on the part of the employee, the manager or systemic in the company. The meat is easily the most expensive part of the salad, but they probably have to get a manager, swipe a card, punch in a code and all that jazz, and they don’t want the hassle. Lame.

  2. Shane January 13, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Yes, I agree that Joe is the ringer. Maybe the food will be good?

    I’m waiting for the day when one of my people is the one ringing in my salad to see if they do things right. I got the salad again today and Kristen got the same one but with chicken and I’m pretty sure I got more apple crisps…

  3. Steve January 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    The de Soto book (a lousy title, don’t you think?) was ghostwritten by David Frum, former GW Bush speechwriter who is leading the movement that argues that Reagan conservatism is dead. Haven’t read the book but it’s on my radar screen.

  4. Shane January 19, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Wow, that makes me even more ready to read it. I need to finish this Gladwell book but suspect I will by the end of this week and will let you know about the de Soto one. I’m growing more interested in the future of our economy.

Leave a Reply

