Panera is my office

25 Jan

In my new job, I manage to be both on the road more seeing staff and at home more working on everything else. I have yet to opt for finding an actual office space to use outside of our house and have instead taken to frequenting either of two Paneras which are remarkably equidistant (a great Bananagrams word if you can get the spelling right) from our house. If I’m in Ghent, I’m feeling social and assuming I’m going to see ODU students, church friends, and plenty of other people I know. It is beyond remarkable to me how many people I know who do not have what I would consider normal work hours. However, if instead I’m on Military, I’m hiding out and trying to be extra productive knowing that the only friend I will run into there is Ruth who works there and thinks I look like multiple different television stars.

The trick for me is to focus on getting work done there instead of eating. As a bread-loving vegetarian (pescatarian if you want the real truth), Panera has heaven-like qualities in that a huge percentage of their creations can be consumed while staying within my dietary limitations. In my continued effort to decrease (not eliminate) my consumption of soft drinks and sweet tea, thankfully I do not appreciate their particular blend of Dr. Pepper nor their sweet tea. This does not stop me from ordering them from time to time but generally I find it easier to stick with a quantity-controlled box of chocolate milk.

Recently I have taken to ordering one item at a time. I know, it sounds ridiculous. But it allows me to have a small bite to eat, say a cinnamon-crunch bagel, and then get into my work. An hour or so later I may want a 4-cheese soufflé but by splitting them up I find sometimes I don’t even place the second order and I also no longer have to deal with the food coma that hits from eating it all at once and then trying to work.

If you’re local, I’ll see you there soon. In Ghent, not on Military.

5 Responses to “Panera is my office”

  1. Jon January 25, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Where does Bojangles fit into this mix?

    Seriously though, great post! Felt like I was sitting at Panera with you. Again. For like, the billionth time… 🙂

  2. Shane January 25, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Bojangles is different because of the combo meal option. It makes no sense to not go ahead and get the egg and cheese biscuit combo with fries and a sweet tea for less than four dollars. You are tempting me and I’ve been cutting back on Bojangles; love the flavor and but all the grease is convincing me that I may live longer if I can avoid that place completely.

    Looking forward to one billion and one!

  3. Carolyn January 28, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Panera’s my office, too…It works 99% of the time, except when a person sits down who treats the place like his living room and talks loudly on his cell phone for an hour about his life and, apparently, the life of everyone he knows. Thankful for earphones at those moments….

  4. Shane January 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    The sufferings of fellow office-dwellers. A cinnamon-crunch to dull the pain.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Panera, my friend, the deceiver « Shane Arthur - August 12, 2010

    […] Aug Though recently less than usual, I still frequent Panera. A few days ago we (Dawn, myself, and Kobe) discussed how amazing it is that Panera gives off the […]

Leave a Reply

