Amidst Reading, Bathroom Destroyed

31 Jan

In a good way. Since yesterday morning, we’ve managed tear the floor out down to the joists. Sub-floor was rotting away so I’m glad we got it out; now it’s time to rebuild it all back up. My job is to take care of bracing the new plywood and then lay the Durarock as the tile base. Then Dawn will put down the tile and we’ll have a brand new bathroom.

I’ve also been moving through some books over the last three days of being snowed in here at the house. I was almost done with What the Dog Saw so that was a quick finish. I love the way this guy thinks but was disappointed that there was no connection between this stories. A few were really neat but mostly I’m just hoping he’ll release another actual book sooner rather than later.

Next I picked up The Mystery of Capital: Why Capitalism Triumphs in the West and Fails Everywhere Else and soon found myself skimming instead of reading. De Soto argues that the problem with capitalism elsewhere is the lack of legal protection for assets. In most of the world many assets are held outside of the law for a variety of reasons. Due to this occurrence, it is simply too much of a risk to buy and sell assets much less use them as collateral for a loan. Makes you appreciate systems that are set up here in America in regards to security and personal ownership of property. Really neat idea that read like a light version of a law book. Steve, it might be right up your alley.

Finally, today I picked up Brief Encounters with Che Guevara which was mentioned by Gladwell in his book in a way that made me want to pick it up at the library. Love the library. Another book of short stories which I think is probably just not my favorite genre. However, a few of these were pretty spectacular. Apparently the author travels alot, especially to Haiti, and so his story-telling ability in settings of different countries is amazing. One quote from the back cover struck me as a great summary; “These stories portray a motley band of foreign-aid workers and ex-patriots left stranded by the receding tide of the American Empire.” Most glad I read this one of the three. Now onto more as Dawn prepares to turn on the Grammys…

2 Responses to “Amidst Reading, Bathroom Destroyed”

  1. Steve January 31, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    I’ d love to borrow The Mystery of Capital. I’ve been avoiding finishing Atlas Shrugged–halfway through and not a lot of excitement to push on to the end. Going to Phoenix on Wed. for a conference, so hopefully will be able to get some reading done on the plane.

  2. Shane January 31, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    I’ll bring it on Tuesday night. It’s a library book though so you’ll have two weeks to knock it out:)

Leave a Reply

