Minimalism and Craigslist

1 Feb

Over the weekend Dawn did alot of organizing around the house and ended up posting a couple of items on Craigslist that we’re hoping to help find a new home. A little extra cash is never a bad thing as a part of creating some more space in our house.

Funny part to me is that I’ve recently been checking out some new blogs that have popped up about something called “Minimalism“. The link there takes you to the first site I found and one of my favorites so far. Seems like the idea is that we have gotten way too focused on stuff and it is time to scale back a bit. These guys tend to take things rather far but I’m finding it interesting to think about. Don’t think it’s a new idea but maybe one that is gaining interest again.

We’ll see where all this goes. I’m definitely interested in having less stuff and thus less time spent taking care of said stuff. I hope that Dawn can sell off some items that have been accumulating in our garage recently. I also get a real kick out of the fact that all these bloggers have Macs and iPhones. Clearly minimalism doesn’t mean not having cool gadgets; just less in general maybe.

Reading these blogs makes me wonder how much does our focus on stuff distract us from life?

5 Responses to “Minimalism and Craigslist”

  1. Jason February 1, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    Can I have your Kayaks? 🙂

    Just read through some of the posts on http://mnmlist.com and the blogger has some good points. I always feel much more at ease with the less items I have around. With a bigger living space now, I have the urge to fill with stuff, even in the living room we don’t use 😉 Trying to fight the urge to fill space just because, plus my wallet thanks me.

    Jason

  2. ashley February 1, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    It is interesting how much stuff you acquire when you are settled anywhere for a long period of time. You look around and don’t even notice that your house is filled to the brim with things you haven’t touched, read, looked at or noticed in months. Not that it is necessarily bad to accumulate things, but it does make life less simple and is an outlet and symptom of what is happening in your heart – buying more things to make our insides feel better and to take our minds off what is really wrong. Great post to think about. I actually shared that blog you mentioned with Jason and he said that he would share it with you and Dawn. He thought you two would like it. lol

  3. Shane February 1, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Ashley – It’s true, you just keep picking up things and rarely getting rid of them. So often we turn to purchases to help heal internal stuff and it never really works. At least in the long term!

    Jason – I like that you thought of us when you read the blog; I like what they have to say on it alot too. The kayaks were surprisingly not something we decided to get rid of. You may come over and ride with me when it warms up.

  4. Jon February 2, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    “These guys tend to take things rather far but I’m finding it interesting to think about.”

    Just what you needed… something else to think about. You think a lot already… 🙂

  5. Shane February 2, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    I think I hear Dawn smiling…

Leave a Reply

