Creativity = making connections

3 Feb

One of the blogs I read recommended The Creative Habit in a way that intrigued me. I found that our library had a copy and am now about seventy pages into it. She is a dancer at the end of her career and so far is writing about how creativity requires discipline and hard work. I think I knew that was true but I have never been known as being terribly creative so I just figured it was because I lacked a skill set. Might be because I am lazy.

Great read in general, especially if you are into art in any form, but perhaps even more valuable if you struggle to understand art and think of yourself as not being very creative. One sentence I read last night struck a chord with me.

    Creativity is more about taking the facts, fictions, and feelings
    we store away and finding new ways to connect them.

I keep rolling this around in my head because it seems so contrary to everything I thought I knew about what being creative means. I think I have seen art primarily as producing an end product and fail to think about what that product says or means. Her idea provides reason and explanation for art for me which I never really grasped. It makes it more exciting. It peeks my curiosity.

2 Responses to “Creativity = making connections”

  1. Jon February 3, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I realized a while ago that for me creativity is not about making something new, but synthesizing already existing things. That’s why I use so many outside resources when writing talks/prepping bible studies, etc. I’m not gifted in invention – and my life-slogan could be ‘why reinvent the wheel?’ If something’s already been done and done well, creativity can mean replicating, synthesizing or reshaping to fit a new context.

  2. Shane February 3, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    Good not to reinvent the wheel. Though I wonder how we might change it…

Leave a Reply

