Dancing machine

4 Feb

Certainly not my nickname. Perhaps my wife’s.

My good friend Reggie posted a solid quote as his Facebook status today.

    “When you dance, your purpose is not to get to a certain
    place on the floor. It’s to enjoy each step along the way.”

I find that often I get caught up in where I am going. Goals, intentions, future ideas, and my secretly-controlling nature can get the best of me. And then they can leave me lazy and frustrated, tired of thinking about what is next and longing for the life I have been ignoring.

Today after work I went to Lowe’s to get a piece of plywood we need for our bathroom repairs. It was above my head on the shelf and I managed to drop it end-first squarely on my foot. It hurt more than most physical pain I have experienced but even as I gritted my teeth and kept bad words inside, I was already thinking about the actual injury and future ramifications. I iced the sucker which seemed to help but was still so concerned about an ongoing injury that I ended up calling for an appointment to have an x-ray in the morning. Somehow amidst all that worrying, I completely forgot my shift tutoring some really great students for an upcoming GED test. And my day was far less excellent because of it.

I know a balance must exist and each of us generally leans in one direction or the other, either focusing too much on the future or ignoring it all together. I have to remind myself that God is present in today which often means I need to get out of my house and interact with some people. This will naturally mean putting down a book which I hate to do…

Leave a Reply

