My purpose for reading

5 Feb

“Reading generates ideas because you’re literally filling your head with
ideas and letting your imagination filter them for something useful.”

If you are a person into ideas, then you have to be a reader. Even the very best books are making you think about things other than themselves. They are forcing your mind into new positions and driving your thinking in ways that you’ve not experienced before.

I think that is why I am so interested in reading different types of books these days. My reading journey has been lifelong but I have usually been far more focused than I am these days. My parents were reading to me before I was born and I always remember books in my room from when I was very little. Looking back I would say I graduated far too quickly from children’s books to John Grisham and James Patterson, imagine I’ll blame my dad though I’m pretty sure my mom bought quite a number of those in particular for me.

For a while there at the end of college I got way into Christian books; that was pretty much all I read, quite unfortunate for my studies. I would imagine that is still my primary staple and what you’d find most on my bookshelf at home. Now I am into personal finance, leadership, productivity, and recently picked up a stack of classics from the library which has become my very good friend.

I love the journey of reading for the enjoyment of thinking about new ideas. I admit I rarely know where any of the thoughts are going. I do not think my reading would qualify me for a degree of any sort and rarely does one book follow another book of the same topic or genre. I love reading books that challenge by way of thinking, that make me ask hard questions of myself and what I think to be true. I know that reading shapes who I am and who I am becoming. And I like that.

3 Responses to “My purpose for reading”

  1. Andrew February 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    I agree with your connection of ideas to reading. I would also add another one to that connection, journaling. Unless those ideas are put somewhere they can get compressed and jumbled; overload as more ideas enter, a release must occur.

  2. Shane February 6, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Aye. Journal too. Then what to do I with all my journals? ๐Ÿ™‚ Read and repeat…

  3. Andrew February 7, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Hear, hear! Maybe throw in serving somewhere, for all the ideas need to have a purpose in being thought out, to be shared and to bless…..yes yes, serving ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

