C S Lewis –> Duke fan?

7 Feb

While reading Alex muse on why the bad things life offers us often affect us more than the good (go read his post then come back here), I could not help but think back to my middle school years of being a Duke fan. I had the black Starter jacket with the large Duke face on the back that I of course let a few special ladies wear from time to time to show that we were “dating”. There were plenty of UNC fans in our friend group and a good number more Duke haters. So whenever Duke won, I was relieved. But when Duke lost, I wanted to miss school the next day. Rough life.

To make us all feel better, a link my dad sent me about the good old days. Three out of five ain’t bad. At the bottom of the page are a few more links, one that I love highlighting a favorite game. Scroll down to number four on the list and relive true history.

I reread Alex’s post again after putting this one together and realized I like his conclusions in general as life lessons but as I learned in Small Group Vision camp, application is key. Let us see how they apply here.

1. We expect Duke to win. Obviously. That’s why losing was so hard in middle school. And why UNC fans are taking this year off.

2. In heaven, C S Lewis and I will be very happy, in part because Duke will never lose another game.

2 Responses to “C S Lewis –> Duke fan?”

  1. Alex February 8, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    shane, you’re a sick, sick man.

    yes, it’s true, unc fans are taking this year off–the plaque is still warm from the engraver’s after last year’s epic run through the tournament. this year’s team, however, stinks.

    i can only hope that you (and Mr. Lewis, if he’s also Dookie-inclined) get yet another opportunity to experience loss/look ahead to the hope you have in heaven.

  2. Shane February 8, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    You should still have some eligibility left to offer the bball team?

    Thankful for hope when the inevitable loss comes that ends the season. Have to read Lewis again then I suppose.

Leave a Reply

