Apple = Simply the best

10 Nov

I grew up with computers. My dad gave me my first few hand-me-downs on which I played solitaire and cataloged my baseball card collection on an ancient database program called Lotus 123. Later my step-dad became my supplier as he began upgrading his system every few years with me again playing the benefactor.

In the summer of 2004 I purchased my first new computer. After many years of dreaming, I entered into the Mac world with a brand new 12″ Powerbook G4. And what a new world it was. I was and continue to be completely blown away by how well the machine works. Over 6 years later and I have not had a single significant problem. I upgraded the RAM a few years back and recently had to order a new battery. Over 6 years later and I am typing this very post on it.

Last month I purchased my second Apple computer. This Powerbook is beginning to slow down and honestly there are simply new programs out that I love that will not run on it. My Powerbook was the last model to feature the Mac chips before they switched over to Intel innards. And now programs are being written that only run on Intel chips.

So I finally broke down and took the plunge, this time on a flashy desktop that is simply gorgeous. Apple has a refurbished store where they sell computers that have been returned within the 14 day window the offer buyers. These computers are guaranteed perfect and come with the full warranty. And mine came at $450 off.

My recommendation to you? For pure home computing joy, there is no longer any other realistic option. Next time you find yourself in the computer market, save up an extra few hundred dollars, and do yourself a favor. Get a Mac.

2 Responses to “Apple = Simply the best”

  1. Steve November 10, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    I still don’t buy it – literally and figuratively. We just got an awesome laptop that is lighter, just as powerful, and more feature rich than a MacBook Air. And we spent less than half of the cost of the Air. So why is it worth it? I can get a new computer twice as often if I stick with a PC that I honestly think is a comparable product.

  2. Shane November 10, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    As long as you’re happy, I’m happy. I’ve never heard of people being completely pleased with a non-Apple computer and that certainly was never my experience. Granted it’s been a while…

Leave a Reply

