Grateful

12 Jun

Special places are often deeply connected to special people. Dawn’s dad has a place down at Lake Gaston that I have been coming to for over ten years now and it is certainly one of those special places with lots of memories. Her dad used to love using old-school Polaroid cameras (screaming “Showtime!” as he took each picture) and at one point we had photos up all over the house. A few years ago they came down and went into an album, shockingly labeled “Memories” on the front cover. We were at the lake this weekend and as everyone was packing up to go, I came across this album.

Amazing to see all the different trips we have taken down here over the years and how many different people we have had with us. I found myself smiling as I remembered specific trips and dreaming of more to come. I also found myself pretty sad as I saw pictures of so many people we have lost touch with or who have left our lives for one reason or another.

Looking forward to creating more memories with people that I love. And probably with some people that we haven’t even met yet.

Leave a Reply

