Summer Officially Begins

6 May

Today is the first official day of summer in my mind. I’m at chapter camp with almost 500 students and 70 staff with everything getting fired up tonight. Rockbridge is a great place to kick off the summer even if I’m still a touch behind on the talks I am to give later this week. The mountains are beautiful, the conversations are significant, and the volleyball makes up for the lack of veggies.

The past five days have been a great end to the school year. Dawn finished up her school work and we spent each night out with friends saying goodbye for the summer. Long dinners, baseball games, and a better-than-expected viewing of Avengers left me longing to be with all these new friends again when the summer internship season ends in August.

And in honor of summer, I’m going to take up blogging again. What better time to kick it all off than right now.

2 Responses to “Summer Officially Begins”

  1. Pauline Hawley May 8, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Hi Shane,

    Glad to see you are blogging again. I have been checking for a blog since March and I talked to your dad tonight and he told me that you were blogging again. Your dad is doing real well and is happy and thriving in his new job. Hope you continue to blog so that I can keep up with you and Dawn this summer. Come to see me any time you are in Richmond.

    • Shane June 12, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      Always very glad to hear from you! Sadly my blogging hasn’t gone as well since this past post but I’m hoping to begin again soon. We have landed in Boston for the summer and once I crawl out from a pile of emails and chat with all of my staff, I hope to get back to posting.

Leave a Reply

